Structure

This article is part of the Aerodynamic guide.

Before digging into the track, listen to it 3/4 times, and try to deduct the different parts and imagine how they are built.

Ready? Let’s continue!

Here’s what the track looks like once imported in Sonic Visualizer:

It is a common way to visualize a sound, in abscissa we have the time and in ordinate the volume. We see that the track’s length is about 3 minutes and 27 seconds, and that it is composed of the following parts:

  1. bells
  2. funk
  3. solo
  4. funk/solo
  5. outro

This cut is somehow arbitrary and could be finer (for instance, the second part funk is actually made of two parts which we can also see on the picture). We are going to focus on the first 4 parts and forget about the last, but before starting, we need to get some extra information about the track.

The tempo

We need to know the tempo of the track, which we usually express in terms of BPM, that is, the number of Beats Per Minute. There are different ways to get this value, the simplest one being to use a software which directly provides its value, for instance, by importing the track in Audacity with the Tempo and Beat Tracker plugin :

We can also compute it from the bells part of the track, which is made of 4 strokes of a bell for a duration of 15’‘6: if we decide that each stroke corresponds to 8 beats, we can deduce the BPM in the way:

To be sure of this value, we are going to play 4 notes every 8 beats in Sonic Pi with a tempo of 123 BPM:

use_bpm 123

4.times do
    play :C3
    sleep 8
end

This is rather expressive, and it can be read this way:

This looks like the original track from a rhythmic point of view (but not on the accoustic side since we arbitrarily picked C3), to be sure of this, we can compare this version with the original one in Audacity:

On the upper side we have the original (since it’s a stereo track, there is one line for the left ear, one line for the right ear), on the bottom side we have our version: it matches, we can continue!

Next…


This article is part of the Aerodynamic guide.

Structure

Cet article fait partie de la série Aerodynamic.

Avant toute chose, essayez d'écouter 3/4 fois le morceau original, d'en déduire les différentes parties et d'imaginer comment elles sont construites.

C'est bon? Prêt à décoller? Allons-y!

Voici ce à quoi ressemble le morceau une fois importé dans Sonic Visualizer :

Il s'agit d'une manière classique de visualiser un son, en abcisse on a le temps et en ordonnée le volume (plus la bande est épaisse, plus le son est intense). On voit que le morceau dure 3 minutes 27, et qu'il est composé de 5 parties que l'on va appeler ainsi :

  1. bells
  2. funk
  3. solo
  4. funk/solo
  5. outro

C'est un découpage logique, et il pourrait être plus fin (par exemple la seconde partie funk est composée en réalité de deux sous-parties, qui ressortent également sur notre graphe). On va surtout s'intéresser aux 4 premières parties dans cette série d'articles, et quelque peu délaisser la 5ème partie.

Le tempo

On va avoir besoin de connaître le tempo du morceau, que l'on représente généralement en BPM (beats per minute), cela correspond au nombre de temps par minute. On peut le récupérer différentes manières, la plus simple étant probablement d'utiliser un logiciel qui donne directement sa valeur, par exemple, en important le morceau dans Audacity et en utilisant le plugin Tempo and Beat Tracker :

On peut aussi le calculer à partir de la partie bells, qui comprend 4 sons de cloche sur une durée de 15''6, si on décide que chaque coup de cloche correspond à 8 temps, on peut déduire ainsi les BPM:

Pour s'assurer d'avoir la bonne valeur, on va jouer 4 notes espacées de 8 temps dans Sonic Pi avec un tempo de 123 BPM :

use_bpm 123

4.times do
    play :C3
    sleep 8
end

C'est plutôt expressif et ça se lit ainsi:

C'est assez proche de l'original d'un point de vue rythmique (mais pas au niveau de la sonorité puisque l'on a choisi C3 arbitrairement), pour s'en assurer, on peut comparer dans Audacity:

En haut on a l'original (on est en stéréo, il y a une bande pour le côté gauche, une pour le côté droit), en bas notre version : ça colle, on peut continuer!

La suite par ici...


Cet article fait partie de la série Aerodynamic.